The following is a time line of the course and student course union. Reference points were (lustrum) almanacs and various interviews with Prof. Hans Lyklema (one of the founders of the course Molecular Life Sciences).

1876 Foundation of Rijkslandbouwhogeschool te Wageningen.
1918 Foundation of Landbouw Hogeschool te Wageningen.
1967 Prof. Dr. Den Hartog (previous professor of organic chemistry at Wageningen) visits prof. Dr. Clark (professor in organic chemistry at Warwick University) and first learns of his theories for a new subject area: ‘The School of Molecular Sciences’. At this point in time a combination of chemistry/physics and biology was not considered: Physicists and chemists worked with model systems and simplified systems, biologists worked with living subjects. The biologists considered the simplified models insufficient in describing a living system as too many details were omitted, and it would be impossible to discover what the effect of these omissions of the system would be.
29 mei 1967 Meeting between prof. Dr. Den Hartog, prof. Lyklema, prof. Van der Plas en prof. Veeger in Wageningen where the idea of a course Molecular Sciences was discussed over a cup of coffee.
december 1967 Submission an immediate acceptation of a proposal to establish the course Molecular Sciences. The senate committee ‘Molecular Sciences’, under leadership of prof. Hellinga and clerk prof. Lyklema was established.
december 1969 The proposal for the establishing of the course Molecular sciences is submitted by the ‘Molecular Sciences’ committee, under leadership of prof. Hellinga and clerk prof. Lyklema, and definitively approved.
8 juli 1970 The Minister of Agriculture Lardinois agrees to the establishment of the course.
1970-1971 The first academic year of Molecular Sciences with nine new students. Graduation specialisations are chemistry and chemical-biology.
1970 Foundation of student course union Luukelom. They publish ‘Apolar Binding’, and later also organise seminars and excursions. Is responsible for the course students and later starts planning a course weekend.
1975 The course has grown to 35 students per year. New graduation specialisation in chemical-physics.
1980 Graduation specialisation Biotechnology introduced.
1982 Explosive growth.
1986 University name change to Landbouw Universiteit.
1990 90 first year students.
1992 The specialisation biotechnology splits from Molecular Sciences to become a new course, Bioprocesstechnology. The number of first year students for Molecular Sciences decreases to some 20, 30, students per year.
1992 Restart of the course union under the new name M.S.V. Geen Flauwekuul (No Nonsense, in Dutch “nonsense” has a play on words with “molecule”). The new name was chosen to show the union would be less serious – humour and ludic activities would have priority, and ‘gezelligheid’ would ensure the life of the union. The name of the newsletter, Apolar Binding was also changed to het Ridikuultje (the Ridicule, again with a play on words with molecule), shortened to het Kuultje.
1998 Another change in the union name, now to the more professional M.S.V. Alchimica, and the new logo was also revealed. Het Kuultje was changed to the Periodica Alchimica.
1998 The chair groups Bio-anorganic chemistry and Molecular genetics were shut down and chair groups Physical organic chemistry and Bio-organic chemistry fused due to financial cut backs.
1999 The name of the university is changed to Wageningen University, as part of Wageningen University and Research centre.
1 september 2007 The course name is changed to Molecular Life Sciences.
2013 The union says goodbye to the association common room ’t Hok in the Transitorium on de Dreijen and moves to Ad Hok on the fifth floor of the Forum on the new campus. An average of 50 to 60 students starts studying BSc MLW each year.
2015 For the first time since 1990, when Biotechnology split from MLW, there are 90 applications for BSc Molecular Life Sciences. It is also the 9th lustrum of M.S.V. Alchimica, the theme being ‘Back to your roots’.